Do not flatter yourself. Making money with a website is not an easy task. I present a calculation to know the theoretical income per month of a page with 100,000 visits per month.
Before becoming illusions that you will become a millionaire creating a blog it is important to know some data. When making calculations and estimates for potential income, the 100% accuracy of the final data does not count so much, but rather to obtain knowledge about the key factors that are part of the formula.
Few bloggers or webmasters initially get an idea of what can be earned and are surprised when they see the income they get starting with products like Google Adsense or Coguan Oz.
Theoretical data for estimating monthly income:
To simplify the calculation we will focus on the commercial strategy of 90% of the people who start the path of monetization of a website. They choose the most comfortable and well-known path that is the integration of Google Adsense text ads. Few get to have 100,000 page views in a month and it may seem a very high figure for those who still do not reach 1,000 in the same period of time. Let’s summarize the basic data:
- 100,000 page views.
- General theme web that talks about the news.
- Web format: blog.
- Monetization with the automated platform (eg Google Adsense).
- The blogger does not sell advertising directly to an advertiser.
- Online ads are the only source of income
Approximate data of the Spanish market and LATAM to make the calculation:
To calculate the income we need to know the formats that are used and the income for each of them that can be achieved. To not go crazy I do not present different data for each format but I simply apply media. I have also been a bit optimistic about the CPM data (if you do not know this term see also “What is eCPM?” ):
- 80% of visits from Spain seen that this is news for a Spanish audience.
- 3 advertising formats: a Megabanner (728 × 90) in the header, a Skyscraper (120 × 600) on the side and a standard banner (468 × 60) at the end of each article.
- Average eCPM per advertising format: € 0.5 CPM.
The calculation to obtain the monthly income of a website with 100,000 page views:
Although the calculations are not complicated, we must understand the difference between page views and advertising impressions. To achieve the final result we apply the following formula:
Revenue € (per month) = page views x number of banners x average eCPM
If we multiply 100,000 x 3 x € 0.5 / 1,000 we get a monthly income with the € 150 online ads. Surprised to be so low? If your percentage of visits outside of Spain is higher, income will even be lower.
With this example, I simply wanted to show that it is not easy to make money with a website. It is not enough to create a website and think that the text ads we have implemented on it will work miracles. There are additional sources of income for a blog to take advantage of. Above all, direct selling to advertisers is the one that has an important potential to multiply the income of your website.
What are your tips to generate income with a website?